All Grown Up

e-gchpf2You’re not a child anymore, I realize.

You’ve grown and matured, far beyond wise.

 

Still, I remember how just yesterday

I could somehow love your sorrows away.

 

How I miss those times when just being there,

Brought your heart comfort when you were scared.

 

Those talks we’d have about friends and school,

And shopping for clothes and shoes that were “cool”.

 

My “little one” no longer, but adult and strong,

You don’t need me to help you know right from wrong.

 

I’ve let go of the past and look ahead with anticipation,

Toward the joy of the future with great expectation.

 

Though the memories of your childhood are oh so good,

There’s nothing I’d change about you, even if I could.

8 thoughts on “All Grown Up

  1. Goodness, you have a whole new look! The poem is beautifully written and the image is priceless. yes i believe every Mother needs to go through that, and when they can’t that is when everything sours. Is the image on you did, one of your children’s or some other—it is quite lovely on this page. I’m up a little later than usual so I am able to catch the new posts right off the press!! Lynda, thinking of you–your friend Frank

  2. Frank, The image is one I found on the internet doing an image search for “growth charts” as I felt that was fitting for the poem. Thank you for your kind words. I have been feeling a bit sentimental about my kids who are now 26 and 24 years old. While my mother’s heart will always see them as my babies, I’m so proud of the wonderful young adults they are.

    Lasitha, Thank you for commenting, as well. I agree that most all moms feel this way about their children. I look forward to reading your blog.

  3. you know, the thing that struck me was the growth chart. i bought that same growth chart for my aunt a couple of years ago. it folds up like a book with a hardback cover. i thought it would be such a great keepsake. how fitting that you placed such a strong, sturdy memento next to such heartfelt memories.

  4. That is really sweet Mom! You just being there still brings me comfort. No matter how old I am…I will always need my mom! I love you!

Leave a Reply

