Canaan in the Desert

There is a wonderful place in Phoenix, that I just heard about last week at my ladies Bible study. It’s a prayer garden that is tended to by a convent of Prostetant nuns called Canaan in the Desert. I mentioned it to my husband when I got home that night and then I googled it. You get the story of Canaan in the Desert by clicking here.

Saturday after our homeless ministry work my husband and I decided to go visit the prayer garden. It is one of the most peaceful places I’ve ever been to. What a surprise this lovely little garden is with its nooks and crannies, each path taking you to a different period in the life of Christ.

Your journey starts with the manger where the tiny newborn lay.

Obviously, not much is known about Jesus’ childhood years so the next stop is Gethsemane, where Jesus asked his disciples to watch and pray with him.

 If you’re familiar with the story, you’ll recall that Peter, James and John were sound asleep when Jesus came to check on them.

Jesus heart was overwhelmed, knowing what was about to take place, and he was very sad at his closest friends inability to stay awake and pray while he was just a few feet away talking to his Father.

Jesus went back to where he was praying and poured out his heart to the Father.

How many times have we said this to God?

I’ve said the “My Father, I don’t understand you.” part…but often I forget the “But I trust you.” part.

When I was going through the turmoil of finding out I had thyroid cancer I didn’t understand why. But God gently nudged me toward the place where I decided to trust in Him and know that no matter what happened, no matter the result of the surgery, I know who I am and Whose I am. And that makes all the difference in the world!

More on the Garden in the coming days.

4 thoughts on “Canaan in the Desert

  1. Thanks Lynda for sharing this wonderful garden…especially the part where Jesus prayed, “Father, I don’t understand you, but I trust you.”

    That is what I am trying to do this very moment. Most days, that is how I get through them, one moment to moment…

    I appreciate this Garden already…

  2. Lynda, that is a lovely garden and I am sorry to say that for the 10 years I lived in Scottsdale or Paradise Valley I never heard of it, unless hopefully it was built after we left six years ago. It will be interesting to see the rest of the garden and read your guides as they follow the bible. Hope all is well with you. My best, Frank

Leave a Reply

