Excuses, excuses!

“A man who wants something will find a way; a man who doesn’t will find an excuse.”

I have made a lot of excuses for myself in the past. Excuses for my behavior, excuses for my actions or inactions, excuses for my weight, excuses for my lack of fitness, excuses for not getting out and taking photos like I want to…

When I ran across the quote at the top of this post I thought about my life and the excuses I’ve made for not achieving my “wants”.

I want to lose weight, but it’s too hard to give up the things I like to eat.

I want to be healthier, but I hate to walk in the Arizona heat (or the Colorado cold, or the Wyoming winters)

I wish I had a college degree, but I didn’t know how to pay for it so I got married at 18 and had kids soon afterwards. And even now that I’m an adult, it costs a lot of money to go to school! But I sure wish I had that degree.

I would exercise more if I had a gym membership, but they’re so expensive!

I would take a picture of that _____________ but I forgot to bring my camera!!

I wish I had read that book, but I just didn’t have time.

And the list goes on and on…

I think it’s time I quit making excuses and start doing the things I want to do.

I think it’s time for me to stop whining about what I miss out on eating and enjoy what I can eat that is good for me and still tastes good. So what if I can’t have ice cream, candy or a whole bag of chips every day! I can have seafood, fruit and an occasional treat. I can eat salads and learn creative ways to make them interesting and fun. I can learn new ways to prepare chicken and lean beef. I can eat more asparagus (I LOVE asparagus) and plums.

I just got a e-gift card to Amazon from my stepsons and their mom (Thanks T!) and instead of buying books (I’m so addicted to books!) I bought an exercise ball and some exercise bands and tubes for creating a comfortable, yet inexpensive, workout routine in my home. I also have a new book (just had to have this one) called Pain Free by Pete Egoscue and have been checking out his method of living pain free. I’ve heard really good things about this book and the Egoscue Method and, having read the first three chapters, I think it sounds doable. I hope to try this consistently for a few months and let you know how I feel about it then!

 I think I’m also going to sign up for at least one class at the community college. Maybe it isn’t a degree, but learning doesn’t have to stop just because I’m not in a degree program right now. There are many things I’m interested in and I’ve always LOVED school! The tuition at the community college level in Arizona is way cheap, so I have no excuses for not signing up. There’s one class on Web Page Development that sounds interesting and an Introduction to Psychology class that I think I would enjoy. I’m also interested in taking a photography class or a Photoshop class. So we’ll see what happens.

I am going to compose a list of books that I currently own, but haven’t read, and then read them and write a short review on each one, possibly on a new page on my blog. I love to read, and keep buying books at yard sales and on eBay and at book stores and at Costco…..you get the idea. But I haven’t read half the books I own! So I’m going to quit making excuses for not reading them and just do it!

Okay, so I’ll probably make more excuses from time to time. But at least I’m starting to recognize an excuse and am willing to take action to turn the excuse into an action.

I’m on the right track now!

 

7 thoughts on “Excuses, excuses!

  1. I started a Bucket List on my blog, because there are lots of things that I want to do to, and I make excuses for not doing many of them!!!

    I think you’d get a big kick out of going to school for digital photography and web design? Just a thought 🙂

  2. Yay! What a great blog. You can refer back to it whenever you get “off-track” again, which will probably happen, but so long as you acknowledge that it will and have a plan for getting back on again, you’ll be great!

    I agree about the digital photo classes. I think you would really like them. Plus you would get to hang out with a bunch of people who like the same things you do.

    I’m sure [the city you live in] has an arts center and/or community sponsored classes that would probably be cheaper than the community college. I know [the city I live in] does.

  3. Thank you for that quote…it is a nugget of truth that I needed to hear. I know that if my husband passes away, I will need to redefine myself, to get back in touch with the person I was and also I will need help in discovering just who I am to become…marriage defines us more than we know, sometimes.
    I really like the quote. I think that I will jot it down on an index card and place it on the frig so that I can see it on a daily basis….I also think that you would do great in anything that involves photography….you do have a keen eye…

  4. Hooray! I’m always amazed at how much in my personal life is affected by my perspective at the time. Love the quote! After all you’ve been through some of the other challenges will be a cakewalk. And like clevergrl said, you can always refer back to this post if you need a boost. Good luck!

  5. Dear Lynda,
    Even though I didn’t catch your post two days ago when you wrote it, I think my reply isn’t bound to any time limit!!

    Your writing and your photos prove that you are an intelligent, creative women. They are, in a way, your vitae!!–a very special vitae that doesn’t need anything more done to it, except for you to show it to someone.

    I am not sure of which Arizona city you are in, cause each have much to offer. From 1993 to 2002 I lived in Paradise Valley and Scottsdale. When I moved there permanently in 1993 I was like you in many ways. Sure I had been a very successful caterer in Chicago, sure I was creative, and I also always wanted a degree. I always thought I wasn’t smart enough to go to college.

    Well, As 1994 unfolded M. took Youme by the hand one day and drove to ASU in Tempe. He said I was going to college. I became so frightened I ran to the car.

    That winter I enrolled in Scottsdale Community college for 2 art courses.

    Close to the end of that semester Martin took me back to ASU to meet with a registrar whose sole job was to guide the older person seeking an education.\

    Within a couple days all the papers were filed with the school, etc. The wait for acceptance had begun!! Three days before semester start I was accepted. I was in a panic. I didn’t even understand how a college worked. Martin took me again and signed me up for 4 classes–I had been restricted to 4 classes for the first semester

    You have no idea how wonderful you feel getting a degree and especially that I had exceeded any kind of expectation.

    Your photographs are far superior to any I have seen for a long time. And please think on this–ASU was not as expensive as you think and you can pay in many different prearranged plans. If you go to ASU the teaching staff will support you 150% or more just because you can show your strength and your willingness to learn!

    I graduated, both undergrad and grad school with a 4.0 average. The first couple of semesters at ASU I couldn’t believe my gpa. But it doesn’t lie…….its judged by the work you do in college.

    By the time I received my Masters in Fine Arts it was 2002 and as I looked back on those years, even now, I reacted to learning like a child in a candy store. I couldn’t get enough…….I had become a binger for knowledge

    You should think more about going to school and getting that degree.

    My best to you–I am sorry I wrote a book–Oh yes, I struggle with weight also and am on Medifast right now. All things are possible and sometimes I even forget that!!
    Frank

  6. Being a teacher I am always excited when I hear of anyone wanting to go to school or to learn something new. I would always of course recommend a math class (hey it always comes in handy when you have kids in school). Knowing you I would also think that a history (you like the past) or a literature course (learn more about the books you are reading than just what the words say). I also encourage my students to take classes that they feel they have no interest in as you told me growing up “How do you know you don’t like it until you try it.”

  7. Great quote…great blog! I agree with Frank, your photography is excellent and you more than have the ability to go to college. Go for it girl!

Leave a Reply

