My Leanin’ Side

I received the following story from my friend, Irene, in an email. It caused me to reflect back on all the times the Lord has propped me up on my “leanin’ side” and on all the people who have propped me up over the years.

I hope you enjoy the story as much as I did!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

When I’m asked to pray for people, I think of the old Deacon who always prayed,

“Lord, prop us up on our leanin’ side.”After hearing him pray that many times, someone finally asked him what he meant.

He answered, ‘Well, you see, it’s like this…

I got an old barn out back. It’s been there a long time, it’s withstood a lot of weather, it’s gone through a lot of storms, and it’s stood for many years.

It’s still standing. But one day I noticed it was leaning to one side a bit. So I went and got some pine poles and propped it up on its leaning side so it wouldn’t fall.

Then I got to thinking about that and how much I was like that old barn.

I’ve been around a long time. I’ve withstood a lot of life’s storms. I’ve withstood a lot of bad weather in life, I’ve withstood a lot of hard times, and I’m still standing too. But I find myself leaning to one side from time to time.

I figure a lot of us get to leaning at times so I like to ask the Lord to prop us up on our leaning side.


Sometime we get to leaning toward anger, leaning toward bitterness, leaning toward hatred, leaning toward cussing, leaning toward depression or judgment of others – leaning toward a lot of things that we shouldn’t.

So we need to pray, ‘Lord, prop us up on our leaning side. Then we will stand straight and tall again, to glorify the Lord in the way that’s best.

(If you stare at this barn for a second you will see the source of my help.)

“Props” and blessings to you!

4 thoughts on “My Leanin’ Side

  1. Good one! When I read the post and then looked at the picture, I immediately remembered a lesson in which a young woman was talking about turning everything over to God since He’s ultimately who’s in charge anyway. She had a framed picture of Christ on the table for us to look at, and she asked us to write something we were really concerned about on little slips of paper that she distributed. Then she took the tiny slips and placed some of them inside the frame as she said something like, “You know what; I just really can’t deal with this right now so I’m going to turn it all over to You.” It was a great object lesson, one I’ve never forgotten.

  2. Marlajayne, that’s an awesome story! For something as simple as turning our problems over to God, it sure isn’t an easy thing to do.

    I love stories and lessons that remind us that He’s there, just waiting for us to let Him perform an amazing work in our lives.

  3. Boy, I so identify with ” My Leaning Side”. I don’t think that I am just leaning, I am being held upright. I think that in my situation with my husband’s journey down this path called Cancer. As we walk the Valley of the Shadow, I think that it is more like our old 1920’s garage. I believe that the only thing that is keeping the old building standing is all of the “stuff” that we have inside of it.
    I believe that we would have lost the garage in the tornado that took our “chicken coop” if we didn’t have so many tools and general junk on the walls…
    Thanks so much for sharing and reminding us that leaning into the Arms of God is what keeps us standing on our feet. I am so glad that I can meet Him on my knees and get up to stand on His Word. It is the Hope of all Hope that helps my husband and I to keep putting one step in front of the other while these Shadows become darker….
    Thanks for sharing your faith.

  4. Oh, my Lynda, at first I questioned as always what it was I should be seeing, then needed to stop thinking and then look.
    I do believe I need a very big anchor to keep me from leaning these days. I seem to vacilate between worry, anger, humility, care and depression. Rarely does my smile and humor break out like it used to. Good reminder about how easy life can be if we just ask for help!!

    Help how very difficult to remember how to ask for it!!

    Thanks, Frank

Leave a Reply

