After Thyroid Cancer – Still Not Quite Back To Normal

It has been 6 1/2 weeks since my total thyroidectomy. My incision is looking pretty good. The lump at the base of my throat is still there…I’m not liking it. I wish it would go away. I don’t like the way it looks. I don’t like the way it feels. It doesn’t hurt, it just feels…foreign. It shouldn’t be there. I’m going to ask my surgeon about it on Monday.

My voice, while I never totally lost it, is still slow in coming back to normal. I’m wondering if this is related to the lump. I can’t even stand the sound of my own singing along with the radio in my car!! I want it back…to normal. Heck, I want it back better than normal because I love to sing, but I’d be happy with normal.

My medication dosage was raised a bit last week when my blood work came back showing my TSH (thyroid stimulating hormone) level was high at 7.66. The reference range this lab uses is 0.30 – 3.00, so I’ve got a ways to go. I still feel quite hypothyroid  with my worst symptoms being depression, constipation (like you really wanted to know that!), fatigue, and muscle cramps and weakness. My hair is not right either…it’s flat, dull and dry (anyone who knows me knows that my hair has never been dry a day in my life!).

I expected it to take me a while to get “normal” again, so I’m not bumming too badly. I do wish that I felt better and more energized, but I know that it will happen, eventually, and that this is just part of the whole thyroid cancer process. I’ve been so fortunate to not have to go through the RAI to kill the remaining thyroid tissue. I am grateful for that, believe me. Still, I wish there was some way to fast forward my recovery. If I could figure it out I could make BILLIONS!! I know there are many other THYCA patients that would want that benefit.

On a much better note – My daughter and son-in-love are coming for a visit in a couple of weeks! I’m really excited to see them! I got to spend a little time with them in November when I went to see my granddad, but it was WAY too short a visit with the kids. I’m planning on feeling much better by the time they get here!  I want to enjoy every moment with them!!

One thought on “After Thyroid Cancer – Still Not Quite Back To Normal

  1. What dosage of thyroid hormone do they have you taking? That makes a big difference if getting back to “normal.” If you are taking too low a dose, you will continue to feel hypothyroid?

    Aneil Mishra

Leave a Reply

