THE DIFFERENCE

I was looking for a poem this morning called “The Difference”. I found several good pieces, including what I originally set out looking for.

I think it’s important for people to know what makes a difference in their lives. For me, the difference in my life is made by several things, including:

  • My relationship with God
  • Prayer
  • My husband
  • My children
  • The rest of my family
  • Friends
  • Books
  • Photography
  • Nature (especially the mountains)
  • Writing
  • Watching sports with my hubby

These are the things that really touch my heart. Each holds a special place in my life, they are my loves. They make me who I am. Some of these I would find it very difficult, if not impossible to live without. Some of them I can imagine my life without, but my life certainly wouldn’t be as rich as it is now. They are the difference to me and in me.

Below is the poem I was looking for,  followed by a couple other finds that I think are good examples of “The Difference” that I was thinking about this morning.

The Difference

I got up early one morning and rushed right into the day;
I had so much to accomplish that I didn’t take time to pray.

 

 

Problems just tumbled about me, and heavier came each task,
“Why doesn’t God help me?” I wondered. He answered, “You didn’t ask.”

 

 

I wanted to see joy and beauty, but the day toiled on gray and bleak;
I wondered why God didn’t show me–He said, “But you didn’t seek,”

 

 

I tried to come into God’s presence; I used all my keys at the lock,
God gently and lovingly chided, “My child, you didn’t knock.”

 

 

I woke up early this morning, and paused before entering the day;
I had so much to accomplish that I had to take time to pray.

 

–Author unknown

 

This is a story I found on YouTube…very touching. It’s made the email rounds many times, but I don’t think the message is ever too old.

Who I Am Makes A Difference

 

One more poem:

The Difference Between Strength and Courage

It takes strength to be firm,
It takes courage to be gentle.

It takes strength to stand guard,
It takes courage to let down your guard.

It takes strength to conquer,
It takes courage to surrender.

It takes strength to be certain,
It takes courage to have doubt.

It takes strength to fit in,
It takes courage to stand out.

It takes strength to feel a friend’s pain,
It takes courage to feel your own pain.

It takes strength to hide your own pains,
It takes courage to show them.

It takes strength to endure abuse,
It takes courage to stop it.

It takes strength to stand alone,
It takes courage to lean on another.

It takes strength to love,
It takes courage to be loved.

It takes strength to survive,
It takes courage to live.

 

 What is it that makes you who you are?  What is it that touches you? What is “The Difference” in your life?

5 thoughts on “THE DIFFERENCE

  1. What is it that makes you who you are? My faith. What is it that touches you? My faith. What is “The Difference” in your life? My faith.

    I know it sounds hokey, but as far as I am concerned – TRULY, with faith all things are possible.

  2. As all have expressed, it begins and ends with my faith and with love…every thing else is a crutch on which I lean…but it is faith and love that never lets me down…

  3. I DO NOT KNOW IF THIS IS THE PLACE FOR THIS BUT YOUR POEM ABOVE GIVES ME THE COURAGE AND STREGHTH TO SAY THESE THINGS. I PRAY THAT I CAN BE THIS PERSON AND CAN DO THESE THINGS BECAUSE……
    ……I AM STRONG
    ……I AM COURAGES
    ……I AM LOVED……..
    I WILL GROW CLOSER TO GOD
    I WILL STAND UP FOR MYSELF
    I WILL NOT CARE WHAT OTHERS THINK OF ME AND MY FAMILY IT IS MY LIFE
    I WILL TREAT MY FAMILY (ALL OF THEM) WITH MORE LOVE, RESPECT AND RELIZE THAT THEY MAY BE ALL I HAVE SOMEDAY
    I WILL NOT JUDGE
    I WILL SUPPORT MY _______ WITH THE HELP THAT IS NEEDED
    I WILL TELL OTHERS WHEN THEY HAVE UPSET ME AND MADE ME MAD
    I WILL MAKE APOLIGIES TO THOSE WHO I HAVE WRONGED
    I WILL ADMIT MY FALIERS
    I WILL BE PROUD OF MYSELF
    I WILL NOT TAKE IT ALL ON MYSELF
    I WILL SAY NO WHEN I WANT TO
    I WILL SAY YES WHEN I WANT TO
    I WILL BE STILL AND LISTEN TO GOD
    I WILL PUT IT IN GODS HANDS AND LEAVE IT THERE
    I WILL NOT DWELL ON THE PAST OR THE FUTURE
    I WILL LET EACH DAY TAKE CARE OF ITSELF
    I WILL LET MY CHILDREN BECOME THE ADULTS THEY NEED TO BE AND WILL SUPPORT THEM WITH MY LOVE NOT MY CODDOLING THEM
    I WILL FIND A BLESSING IN EACH DAY
    I WILL NOT COMPLAIN SO MUCH
    I WILL TRY TO STAY IN BETTER TOUCH WITH THOSE I LOVE
    I WILL PRAISE MORE
    I WILL LOVE UNCONDITIONALLY

Leave a Reply

