Tag…You’re It!

No, this isn’t one of those posts where I want you to respond by doing what I’ve just done.

This is a story about friendship, a story about Barb and me.

Barb and I have been friends since we were 17 years old. We’ve been through thick and thicker together. We’ve laughed, cried and prayed together.

Tonight we laughed! I laughed so hard that I nearly lost control of my bodily functions.

Earlier today Barb called and left a voice mail on my cell phone. It went something like this:

“Hi, Lynda, this is your friend. I’m just calling to see how you’re feeling and I haven’t called you all week and I feel kinda bad. I hope that you’re feeling good. I saw that you went back to work on Monday. I’ll talk to you later, I love you bunches.”

So, when I got off work I called her back, got no answer and left her a voice mail:

“Tag, you’re it! I’m feeling pretty good, still kinda sore, but not too bad. Yep, I’ve been working all week. Give me a call when you get this. Love you, bye.”

Tonight after we ate our dinner my hubby and I went to The Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf. I guess that’s about the time that Barb called me back. When I got home I saw that I had a missed call from her. But there was no voicemail…Hmmmmmmmm, curious.

So I called her. I forgot it is an hour later in Wyoming (9:00 PM) than it is here in Arizona (8:00 PM), but she was still awake and answered.

Me: “I saw you called.”

Barb: “Yep, and I was going to leave you a message…but…well…I couldn’t.”

Me: “Why not?”

Barb: “Well, I was in the bathroom at the bowling alley all alone when I called. Then some lady came in and sat in the stall next to me. When your voicemail came on I just couldn’t bring myself to say ‘TAG, YOU’RE IT!’

Me: UNCONTROLLABLE LAUGHTER!!!

6 thoughts on “Tag…You’re It!

  1. This may be the #1 reason not to use your cell phone in the restroom, I would hate to see my mother on CNN as the next Larry Craig! Although I would have liked her to try it just to see what kind of response she would have gotten, poor lady next to her would think that was a terrible game to play with your poo.

  2. That was hilarious. I can totally see Barb debating about whether to leave the message or not. The Barb I knew 15 years ago would have just done it! Heck with the lady in the next stall over! 🙂

  3. YES I AM OLDER AND WISER, MORE SO EVERYDAY,
    BUT I THINK I WOULD STILL PUSH A GIRL OFF A BOOTH IN FRONT OF A CUTE GUY.

Leave a Reply

