Happy Birthday to my Lovely Daughter

It seems like only yesterday you were a tiny newborn. Everyone in the hospital said you looked just like me, and I thought, “No, she’s beautiful!”  

 You have grown more lovely, inside and out, as the years have passed. You are thoughtful, caring, intelligent and wise beyond your years. You have more courage than I could have ever mustered at your age, and I’m so proud of who you have become. You work hard and you play hard! You love deeply and permanently. Your dedication to those who you call friends and family is untiring.

 They say that parents give their children roots and wings, and I hope that is true. I know that on the days when I long to draw you close under MY wing I have to take a small step back and realize what an independent, loving adult you are. You don’t need me to be your “mommy” anymore and that’s a good thing. That is something you and I accomplished together. I’m blessed to know that I’ll always be your Mom and your Friend.

I hope you have the happiest birthday today! No one deserves it more than you do Baby Girl. I love you with all my heart! I’ll see you soon!!  

 Love, Mom

 My daughter and son-in-law

Laurie and Cody on their wedding day.

5 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to my Lovely Daughter

  1. Your love for your daughter jumps out at you….what wonderful pictures…I tried to leave a comment on the peach rose picture, but I just couldn’t figure the flickr thing out. I wanted to tell you that I had a rose bush with this color rose. It was beautiful, but I had to leave it behind when we moved back to the farm…everyday I regret leaving that rose….it was so unique and it was such a “happy bloomer”….Thanks for sharing your pictures, Lynda….they never fail to bring a smile to my face.

  2. Mom-
    Thank you! I am so glad that I have you for my mom! We have learned from each other and taught each other. We have shared hard times and good times, we have laughed and cried together and all of those things have made us stronger. You showed me the way and then gave me the wings to fly. I hope I can only continue to make you proud! I love you Mom.

  3. She IS a lovely daughter, raised beautifully by a lovely mother. And her new hubby isn’t too shabby, either. Glad I have had the chance to know all of you. I am blessed with fabulous people, all the way around! 🙂

  4. Wonderful words from the heart, Lynda. I have watched Laurie grow up and she is a beautiful, wonderful person…her MOM isn’t too shabby either!

Leave a Reply

