Pre-Op Appointment

As you may recall, my TT (total thyroidectomy) surgery has been moved to from April 9th to the 14th, checking in at 10:00 AM and surgery at noon (this is in Arizona Time, which, right now, is the same as Pacific Time). They moved because they hospital didn’t have an operating room on the 9th.

This morning I went in for my pre-op consultation with the surgeon. Everything looks good. My blood work, EKG and chest x-rays all came back excellent, so now it’s just the waiting…less than three weeks to go!!! I’ll be glad to have it over. But, even then it’s not really over. Depending on the results of the biopsy there could be a lot more down the line in the way of treatment, regulating the meds and monitoring. But I’m taking one day at a time and I know God is good and won’t let me have more than I can handle!

I’ll be at Scottsdale Healthcare – Shea. I’m really comfortable with what I’ve read and have been told about this hospital. I’ll likely be in there just overnight, with release after dinner the day after my surgery, if all goes well. I will be taking the entire week of my surgery off and returning to work the following Monday, again, if all goes well, which we expect it to.

As you can see, there are a lot of important things in that area, so it’s a delicate surgery. Fortunately my surgeon has done over 1000 thyroidectomies.

Thyroid

The doctor told me this morning that my pathology report from the biopsy on my thyroid should be back on the 16th and they’ll call me with the results.

Thanks for your good thoughts and prayers for me during this time. All in all I feel good and confident that I’m going to be fine. Guess I’m having a good day today!!

6 thoughts on “Pre-Op Appointment

  1. Lynda
    I think that this is the hardest of times…Hang Time..it is when everything is almost ready and you just have to hang in there while your imagination toys with the unknown…

    Keep busy…and tell us how we can help you…I have a few “humor” sites on my blogroll that I can recommend. It is always good for a smile or a good old “belly” laugh…

    You are in my prayers.

  2. I love you, too. I know the waiting is hard. I’m really, really glad you waited for the guy who has done over 1,000, though. Sounds like he will be very skilled.

  3. Is it okay if I post some well wishes on my blog on April 9th? So you know that I and others are thinking about/rooting for you?

  4. Kiki sent me and I’m a regular with Stephanie. This is an odd time for you to find a new friend … but that is what the blogosphere is all about.

    Thinking good thoughts and knowing all will work out well!

Leave a Reply

