Arrogance

Never in my life have I thought I was better than anyone else, so when someone presents themselves to me, or to anyone else, in a consistently arrogant manner it really irritates me.

One of the definitions on Dictionary.com says this:

arrogance: overbearing pride evidenced by a superior manner toward inferiors

 Here is another definition from the same site:

arrogance: offensive display of superiority or self-importance; overbearing pride.

I like both of those definitions, but I think I especially like the second.

I deal, almost every day, with someone whom I consider to be extremely arrogant. This person’s offensive display of superiority and self-importance is really starting to grate on me! Seriously, 5 days a week, 52 weeks a year of this is just too darned much!

Why do people act like this? Do they REALLY think they’re better than everyone else? Do they REALLY think that they are so far above everyone else on this planet that they don’t have to treat others with basic, common respect? I don’t get it.

My favorite (NOT) quote from the abovementioned person is, “I can’t be bothered.”

As if their time is more important than the person on the phone, who is calling them for the third time that day because they have important business to discuss! The reason they had to call THREE times? You couldn’t be bothered to come to work at a decent hour of the day.

Well, if you (and you’ll know who you are) ever read this blog entry, which I doubt you ever will because you “can’t be bothered”, I hope you understand this:

I am not inferior to you in any way, nor do I consider myself to be above you in any way. Your behavior and attitude offends me and it is high time you get off your ego trip and come back down to Earth. EVERYONE matters. Not just you.

5 thoughts on “Arrogance

  1. Yeah, arrogance sucks. I’m all for self-confidence and all that, but when it’s overblown and others suffer? Not cool.

    I have a very mean, arrogant cousin who’s motto is – “Please, I’m not conceited, I’m convinced.”

    Right.

  2. Yeah, I worked with an arrogant ass myself a while back.

    Sometimes when I was really mad at him, I would picture Wayne and Garth doing their “we’re not worthy” bow. It helped lighten my mood.

  3. “Sometimes when I was really mad at him, I would picture Wayne and Garth doing their “we’re not worthy” bow.”

    Hahahaha! I will have to remember that one!

Leave a Reply

