Live…from the Desert

After we moved here from Colorado, it took me a while to actually appreciate the beauty of the desert flora. Over the past two years I have grown to love the splendor of the Arizona Desert.

 saguaro1.jpg

I read that some of the largest cacti hold up to 1500 gallons of water!

cactus-flower.jpg

I love  springtime, when the plants are beginning to flower.

dbg3cropped.jpg

saguaro-3.jpg

A very ornate saguaro.

yellow-cropped-flower.jpg

There were a lot of bees buzzing around this yellow blossom.

wagon-wheel.jpg

Phoenix has the feel of the “old west”.

purple-beauty.jpg

I must get a field guide! I don’t know the names of any of these flowers!!

These photos were taken in early March 2008. Don’t pass up the opportunity to visit the Desert Botanical Garden in Phoenix if you come here. It is absolutely amazing!

The mountains will always feel like home to me, however, the desert is quickly becoming my second home. I’m sure you can see why!

6 thoughts on “Live…from the Desert

  1. Gorgeous, what a skill to capture such beauty.

    I love the American West. I grew up in a totally different direction, but have taken many trips to your side over the years. The raw beauty of the desert never fails to amaze me.

  2. These are so amazing. Almost like seeing the real thing.

    P.S. That very “ornate saguaro” is very…. er… eye catching. Or is that just the pervert in me?

    LMAO

Leave a Reply

