The “C” Word – Part 2

I read the pathology report to my husband and he agreed that the words “follicular carcinoma” were bad. He told me he loved me and that we would get through this together. I cried. Then I called my aunt and told her the news. She’s a nurse and I wanted to get her educated opinion on what I had read. She said it sounded like what we thought was right, and I told her I would scan the report and email it to her when I got back to work.

I drove back to work and talked to my boss about the report. He was really concerned and supportive, which helped a lot.  I scanned the document and emailed it to my husband and my aunt. They both got online and started researching follicular carcinoma. Knowledge is power, right?

 My hubby IM’d me the links to what he found. As I read the description on the website I was somewhat comforted to see that thyroid cancer has a high survivability rate, about 95%. As I read further I saw that there is a chance of the cancer metastasizing to other parts of the body through the bloodstream. Great. I felt like I was taking one step forward and three steps back. And I was still at work so I had to refocus (yeah right) and get my work finished before 5:00.

 My uncle called me and said that he was sure sorry to hear about my report and that he and my aunt would like to take us out for dinner that night. My aunt and uncle are spending some time in Phoenix this winter and I’ve never been more grateful to have family close by. They are such wonderful people! We agreed to meet at Rockbottom, set a time, and then I went back to work, albeit somewhat distracted.

 This was our weekend to have the boys and my hubby called their mom, T., to tell her what we found out. They decided that we would all tell them about my situation together when we went to pick them up. When we got to their house T. met us at the door and gave me a big hug. We asked the boys to come into the living room and told them we had something to discuss with them. I’m sure they thought they were in trouble for something! 🙂 My hubby started the ball rolling and told them what we read in the report and that I am sick and that it is probably cancer. Their faces fell and I asked them if they had any questions. N., the oldest, asked if I was hurting and I told him that I was just a little sore from the biopsy, but that the nodule itself doesn’t hurt. B., the younger one just kept looking at me, but didn’t ask any questions. I’m sure that I looked a little scary with the huge bruise on my neck. They both hugged me and said, “I love you, Lynda.” More tears.

We arrived at Rockbottom for dinner and after we ordered, my aunt, who is my mom’s sister, and I went outside to call my mom. She took it well, though I know she was a lot more concerned than she could let on. She promised to come here for my surgery if I wanted or needed her to and I thanked her and said I would let her know more about that when I knew more. At this point I still have not even spoken with my doctor. I asked her to call my brothers and sister and let them know what was going on and she said she would.

I called both of my kids later that evening and told them what was going on. They were concerned, but both are very strong and held it together. I explained that, from what we had read, there is a very high survivability rate for this and that we need not worry for now. I promised to keep them informed.

After a rough weekend of reading about follicular carcinoma online and getting very little sleep we decided to drive to the doctor’s office together on Monday morning. We were greeted by the receptionist.

 “Do you have an appointment?”

“No, but I really need to see Dr. M.”

“She doesn’t have anything today, how about later this week?”

 “No, I need to see her today. It’s about my biopsy report”

” What kind of insurance do you have?”

“Blue Cross, Blue Sheild.”

“Oh. We don’t take that anymore.”

“What?”

“We are no longer with Dr. N., whose contract we were using for billing.  And we don’t have our contract with BCBS yet.”

 “So Dr. M. won’t even see me?”

Hubby was standing there incredulous. I was mad. I had waited all weekend to talk to my doctor and now this person is telling me that MY doctor won’t see me because my insurance is no good to them right now.

I said, “Please tell Dr. M. that I’m here, with my biopsy report and that I want to talk to her. Today. Right now.”

She scurried to one of the back rooms, told Dr. M. what I said and Dr. M. came out almost running to me. 🙂

“Lynda! How did you get your report? I don’t even have it yet!”

“I called the hospital when I couldn’t reach you on Friday. They said I could come pick it up in person, so I did. It’s not good.”

She looked it over and I could tell by her face that we were right, it wasn’t good. She had her referral person set up an appointment with a surgeon. Then she did an amazing thing. Something that I’ve never had a doctor do before. She took my hand in one of her hands, and my hubby’s hand with the other and she prayed for us! When she was finished there wasn’t a dry eye in the room.

When we left her office my husband said, “I don’t care if we have to cancel our insurance and get one that she DOES accept, we’re NOT changing doctors!”

5 thoughts on “The “C” Word – Part 2

  1. Lynda, I just wanted to say that I am thinking about you. I’m so glad that you have people around you who genuinely care about you and support you. Hugs to you.

  2. I want a doctor like that, too. She seems to be a person first, a praying person second, and a doctor third… which is really what you want when you’re scared and worried. I’m glad you have her as a doctor.

    I’m praying for you. Love you bunches.

  3. Wow, that is a great story and helps restore some of my faith in doctors and how they treat their patients. I hope you can keep her as your doctor and still use your insurance.

Leave a Reply

